HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
Beyond the Adversity
2
0:00
-9:59

Beyond the Adversity

Not every battle is a battle...
2

Sometimes, I look back, and I'm thankful for that "bad" occurrence. The bigger picture is usually at the end of the event, right? I know we do sing "what the enemy meant for evil, God turned it for good". But to make us grow, God would sometimes allow us to feel pain. 

Hello again, and a very happy new month to you. I hope January was splendid and you had a great month. This February will be greater in all areas for you. Thank you for reading the Hope Alive newsletter again, and I trust God to speak to you yet again. This month's newsletter starts with a talk on "Beyond the Adversity".

Growth in any area, including spiritually, comes with some amount of pain.

Apostle Joshua Selman would say that true success comes with some past and painful experiences of failure. I think at this point, it is right to say all things are working together for our good, as stated in Romans 8:28. 

Sure, the current negative circumstance you're in could all be orchestrated to refine you like gold. This is not to say all negativities are the Lord's doing. Not at all; however, we need to understand that God is not just concerned about the blessings we receive from Him. Why do you think He makes us wait? Why is it that after we ask, sometimes we do not receive answers immediately? 

Beyond the gifts, God is interested in our making and in being a better version of ourselves spiritually. And trust me, this influences other areas of our lives. 

‭‭Romans‬ ‭5:3‭-‬4‬

Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance. And endurance (fortitude) develops maturity of character (approved faith and tried integrity). And character [of this sort] produces [the habit of] joyful and confident hope of eternal salvation.

When things are not going the way we want, it is absolutely necessary to seek God to know why and to know if this is a trial where we have to learn something. Ask questions like, "God, what would You have me do in this situation?" or "What are You changing in me?" This disposition allows you first to know if the trial is God's will or if it's something you ought to fight against. 

Not every battle is a battle. Some are just training grounds to shape us for the things God wants to do through us.

Focus on what God is doing.

Is He trying to build your faith? If yes, expect situations that will cause you to doubt. Did you pray to God for the grace to be patient? Then, don't be surprised when you're thrown into unfavorable situations demanding your patience. You don't learn to believe in God when all things are perfect. Faith is believing in God when the situation doesn't make sense to you. You don't become patient when no one is stepping on your toes. You don't grow out of fear without facing situations that will make you scared.

I definitely wasn't in God's mind when He allowed Job to be tested. But as I write, this thought comes to mind. What if, amongst other things, God wanted to work in Job, was his mindset of fear, and to make him trust more? Job, with his wealth, constantly lived in fear that he would lose all. That wasn't a good thing, right? See the verses below:

‭‭Job‬ ‭3:25‭-‬26‬ ‭

For the thing which I greatly fear comes upon me, and that of which I am afraid befalls me. I was not or am not at ease, nor had I or have I rest, nor was I or am I quiet, yet trouble came and still comes [upon me].

In all, we must remember that we serve a sovereign God. He knows it all. What we should do is remain broken, seek Him and know what His thoughts are concerning our lives. 

‭‭‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭25:2‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter, But the glory of kings is to search out a matter.

Before you complain, why not search and look beyond the adversity? What is God working in you? Lastly, in the midst of your trial, always remain thankful.

CONFESSION: I will be patient for God's perfect timing. I know and believe that all things, at all times, work together for my good. Amen 

P.S-- Unless otherwise stated, All scriptures are from the Amplified Bible Classic version.

#keepinghopealive #hopealive #Christalive #Christinme #beyondtheadversity #gbenrocomfort


Today’s newsletter is also available as a podcast on:

Spotify & YouTube


Tap to listen to the Song of the week:

COUNTING MY BLESSINGS by Seph Schlueter

Thanks for reading HOPE ALIVE! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work. And yes, spread the word of hope by sharing. Someone might need to see this to keep going. Have a blessed week. Cheers!

2 Comments
HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
Keeping Christ alive, and making the most out of your Christian walk.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Comfort O. Adegbenro