HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
What Next?
2
0:00
-9:29

What Next?

The birth of something new...
2

One of the things I don't particularly enjoy doing is to reflect or think. Now, I mean being true to myself. But is there anyone who can succeed or progress without moments of reflection? You want to live by knowing what you have done right or wrong and how you can improve yourself. 

Hi there, and yet again, I am happy to write to you. I am also glad you got to read another Hope Alive newsletter. Have you been good? I’ll be sure to hear from you in the comments. So, today's newsletter is going to build on the last one. Now that you have agreed to prioritize God this year, what next? How do you want to achieve that?

Jesus talked about the importance of counting our costs whenever we consider building something, including an attempt to build our lives. 

‭‭Luke‬ ‭14:28‬/31

[28]  For which of you, wishing to build a farm building, does not first sit down and calculate the cost [to see] whether he has sufficient means to finish it?

[31]  Or what king, going out to engage in conflict with another king, will not first sit down and consider and take counsel whether he is able with ten thousand [men] to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand?

Among other lessons from the verses above, one key thing to note is the importance of planning and reflecting. There is always what to do to achieve your spiritual goals. So what next? Have you drafted a plan? Getting closer to God will not happen if you don't have a plan to include in your daily routine.

You cannot employ the same approach from last year and expect a different result.

So what next? It doesn't have to be something big. Everyone can draft spiritual goals, and they can grow with time. The point is to do something different and not to be in the same spot. Movement is key.

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭4:18‬ 

But the path of the [uncompromisingly] just and righteous is like the light of dawn, that shines more and more (brighter and clearer) until [it reaches its full strength and glory in] the perfect day [to be prepared]. 

Although I don't say I'm doing a perfect job with it, I write yearly plans for each area of my life while reflecting on what I did and did not do in the previous year.  So, for example, drafting a devotion outline is one of the practical things I penned down and started doing this year to help my walk with God. I noticed I wasn't fully maximizing my devotion, and by God's leading, I had an outline prepared, which I pasted by my bed. So every morning, I start with my worship, then use my devotional and write out prayers; I pray, then I follow the outline through until the last item, my personal confession. 

Wait, I'm not saying you should adopt a devotion outline. It could be good for you too, but my point is that draft a plan on what you want to achieve as your spiritual goal and write down practical things to do to help you get there. Whatever you decide to do must be something that can be measurable and achievable.

If you are not intentional about growth, you will never see a positive change in your walk with God. 

There is still time to start now. Every change can start now. The birth of something new doesn't have to be at the beginning of the year. Progress should happen daily and continuously, just like the light of dawn. And now is another time to decide to choose God. You will fall but learn to rise again and keep going because God works in us to will and do His good pleasure.

CONFESSION: God is my strength, so I grow in my walk with Him this year and beyond. Amen.

P.S.-- Unless otherwise stated, All scriptures are from the Amplified Bible Classic version.

#keepinghopealive #hopealive #Christalive #Christinme #whatnext #gbenrocomfort


Today’s newsletter is also available on:

Spotify & YouTube


Tap to listen to the Song of the week:

FRESH WIND by Hillsong Worship

Thanks for reading HOPE ALIVE! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work. And yes, spread the word of hope by sharing. Someone might just need to see this to keep going. Have a blessed week. Cheers!

2 Comments
HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
Keeping Christ alive, and making the most out of your Christian walk.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Comfort O. Adegbenro