HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
The Need for Wisdom
6
0:00
-10:45

The Need for Wisdom

God is just a prayer away...
6

Sometime back, I changed apartments and needed to fit a photo frame on the wall, but I couldn't because there is a rule that says no one should make a mark on the wall. So, there was this fire alarm protruding from the wall, leaving a bit of surface on which to place something. For about four months, I let the frame sit on the fire alarm. But sometimes, it would fall off, and I would replace it. One day, it fell off again as usual, but as I picked it up to put it at the usual spot, I noticed I could actually hang the frame on the alarm. I tried it, and it fit perfectly, just like using a nail.

Lol… you probably didn't get a full picture of what I just described, but the summary here is that I kept doing something in a stressful and frustrating way until I found a better way that stopped my stress. Though I felt foolish after I discovered this, I was glad the frame stopped falling off. Now, this might sound trivial to others, but that time was when I was praying for wisdom consistently in all areas of my life.

Hello again, and I trust you are doing well. Thank you for stopping to read this. So, today's newsletter is about the need for wisdom, not just to fit a photo frame, but for all aspects of life.

I believe every decision we are faced with and every decision we need to make is like being faced with adversity. When we are unable to make the right choice as a result of a lack of wisdom, we can say that we have fainted in the day of adversity. But how?

‭‭Proverbs 24:5/10 KJV‬‬

[5] A wise man is strong; Yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength.

[10]  If thou faint in the day of adversity, Thy strength is small.

Wisdom is strength.

Verse five of this scripture shows that our depth of wisdom is a measure of our strength. This shows the importance of seeking God for wisdom so that we are not victims of fainting in the day of adversity.

I believe there is a daily dose of wisdom required for us to do life the way God wants us to.

You sure don't want to live without having an idea of what you should do or the right steps to take at each time. The decisions we make daily account for what our future and entire life will amount to, so we have to be wise. Wisdom helps us to know what to do and what not to do, when to stop, and when to take action. If not, we will be frustrated with life. Let's see what the Preacher has to say in Ecclesiastes.

‭‭Ecclesiastes 10:15 

The labor of fools wearies every one of them, because [he is so ignorant of the ordinary matters that] he does not even know how to get to town.

The lack of wisdom is what frustrates men. It wears us out when we don't know what to do. Even if we know, it's still frustrating when we don't know how to do it.

Is there any area of life we don't need wisdom? No…

In our workplace, we need wisdom to relate with people and carry out the tasks assigned to us for excellence and distinction. In dealing with family and friends, in our relationships and marriages, with business partners, and in the church, we need God's wisdom. Without wisdom, it will be hard to experience progress, and we might not have access to ideas and strategies for fulfilling God's plans for our lives.

The good news is that we have the All-Wise God as our Father.

Since those who walk with the wise will be wise, that is a plus for us. God has permitted us to ask Him for wisdom whenever we are in need. The truth is that we will always need wisdom.

‭‭Proverbs 2:6-7

For the Lord gives skillful and godly Wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He hides away sound and godly Wisdom and stores it for the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with Him); He is a shield to those who walk uprightly and in integrity,

‭‭James 1:5 

If any of you is deficient in wisdom, let him ask of the giving God [Who gives] to everyone liberally and ungrudgingly, without reproaching or faultfinding, and it will be given him.

Is God not good and so much concerned about our lives? Sure He is. I have had times I have been confused, and trust me, God is just a prayer away.

You don't have to spend hours asking; just a sincere and believing heart is required.

I pray that as you go into this week, you walk in the hidden wisdom of God. Amen.

CONFESSION: I walk in God's wisdom, so I have strength and do not faint in the day of adversity.

P.S-- Unless otherwise stated, All scriptures are from the Amplified Bible Classic version.

#keepinghopealive #hopealive #Christalive #Christinme #theneedforwisdom #gbenrocomfort


Today’s newsletter is also available as a podcast on:

Spotify & YouTube


Tap to listen to the Song of the week:

THRONE ROOM by Charity Gayle

Thanks for reading HOPE ALIVE! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work. And yes, spread the word of hope by sharing. Someone might just need to see this to keep going. Have a blessed week. Cheers!

6 Comments
HOPE ALIVE
HOPE ALIVE Podcast
Keeping Christ alive, and making the most out of your Christian walk.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Comfort O. Adegbenro